I keep hearing great pieces of wisdom, that I either agree or disagree with. I keep wanting to adopt various different mindsets for a day or so, and see how they work for me. So I think I’ll do it.

Experiment #1 comes from a statement about problems only being problems because you think negatively about them. The example I read was:

“say you think it’s a problem that you are overweight. You make it a problem because you don’t accept the present moment and because you THINK that being overweight is a negative thing. In reality it is neutral; it’s only negative because your memories and imagination are interpreting it to be a negative thing. Mostly based on feedback from others and what we are told through comments and judgements. In actuality being overweight just is what it is, nothing more, nothing less.” –read that article here

IN ACTUALITY (insert whatever here) IS JUST WHAT IT IS, NOTHING MORE, NOTHING LESS.

So, winning the lottery is….and that’s it. It’s not great, and it’s not terrible.
My singing at the karaoke bar was…
My cats are.

This is interesting to me. I wonder what will happen if I stop my mental sentences before they become value judgements. I bet the earth will stand still. 🙂

RESULTS:

The conclusions I’ve come to while performing “thought experiment #1” have been kind of hard to keep track of. True to form, I have an epiphany and then immediately forget it.

One reason for this is that the experiment is two fold. The idea came from an article about worrying about life’s problems. The writer asserted that most problems are memories of the past or concerns about the future, but do not exist in the current moment.  Then we are supposed to examine why we think that such-and-such is a problem. Is it because we’ve been conditioned to think that it’s bad? etc.

So I have been trying to keep myself in the moment, as well as withhold judgment with everything I do.

Mostly I found that judging serves no purpose in my daily life, and when I refrained from using judgmental words my decisions became much easier. Judging words include: good, bad, right, wrong, should, etc. Suddenly when I used these words I felt like a fraud. Who am I to say that “this sandwich is good, and that one is bad?” No need to sentence the sandwich to a category that can very well be disagreed with, when what I actually mean is that I like “this sandwich.” Turns out, saying and thinking what I really mean is more helpful to everyone than judging is. What purpose does announcing that radio station “x” sucks serve? It potentially causes an argument which leads nowhere, when all I needed to say was “I don’t like this station.”

Shoulds, rights, and wrongs also have a way of making me hesitant. What is the right decision? Should I call? These questions are a waste of time, unless you’re a juror. They don’t actually make daily decisions any clearer because they themselves are not clear concepts. A more relevant question is, which choice do I like better? Do I want to call so and so? You answer these, and you’ve got yourself a direction.

I suppose using judgmental language has it’s place, but I find it irrelevant to my life. I always end up doing what I really wanted to do anyway, so why not cut to the chase?

As for living in the moment, I’m still working on it. It’s tough to keep that one in mind, because sometimes I need to plan ahead what with school and all. But when my day dreaming begins to make me feel anxious or restless then it’s time to snap it back. It’s fun to try to master this one.

